Aggressive Guests? What to Do?

Everyone’s heard of the dog that is aggressive towards guests, but you don’t commonly hear about the guest who is aggressive towards the dogs.  Over Thanksgiving I had a guest who hit Rose and didn’t think anything was wrong with it.  At the time I felt there was little I could say as that person knew and understood my feelings on violence.  Call me a coward, but I could find no way to handle it other than a loud argument or simply removing Rose from the situation.  So I removed Rose.  However, that person isn’t being invited back into my home.  And Rose?  Well, she’s gotten quite the long apology from me. 

Violence towards animals is considered to be a warning sign indicating that the individual is at high risk of violence towards others.  In fact, a study performed by Northeastern University and the MSPCA found that 70% of people who committed violent crimes against animals also had records of other violent crimes.  When compared with a control group of neighbors, animal abusers were five times more likely to commit violent crimes against people, four times more likely to commit property crimes, and three times more likely to have a record of disorderly conduct or drug possession.  So, what does that say about the visitor who thinks nothing of hitting their host’s pets?  Perhaps not much.  There is a big difference between violent crimes and smacking someone’s dog but how big a difference? At what point does this attitude towards others become more than “just” smacking a dog?  As my life experiences have shown, violence truly does beget violence. 

In other news, Thanksgiving was truly a beautiful day worthy of photography.

Image

 

 

 

 

